from intel to life

February 14, 2011 § 5 Comments

Computers aren’t romantic.

So each time I see a well-known brand shift away from targeting their business market to the common person on the street, I’m intrigued to see how they’ll do it. Especially when it’s about micro-processors, chipsets and the bits that work inside your computer. I can’t even begin to understand what they sell… how am I going to be convinced that I need it?

The age-old trick. Personalize it.

Intel’s latest campaign – The Visual Life – features Scott Schumann (aka The Sartorialist) in a 7-minute short film/interview about his visual life. Very smart. And this is only the first of several short films that will be released this year. Of course, the downer is that every tagline or well-written copy has to actually sell something, which in this case, is the idea that Intel processors are an essential component of the Visual Life… still, I liked its approach.

Okay. Maybe it’s because I like Scott Schumann. Whatever.

On photographing people:

‘You never know what it is… what that thing is that draws you to that person. But you just let it happen… it’s almost like going out there and letting yourself fall in love a little bit every day.

Insert killer moment – the campaign tagline:

I feel very lucky to have a part of my day leading a very visual life… to go out and just be in the world that you’re in, see it… keep your eyes open and really relate to what you’re seeing, react to what you’re seeing.

On getting started as a photographer:

My lack of knowledge in the beginning really helped and really just made me refine what little I knew to make it work.’

– Scott Schumann aka The Sartorialist

*

Campaigns aside, the video reminded me of a conversation I had earlier on with Felix. He and I were comparing how little time we each had, the numerous amounts of deadlines and impossible schedules to keep up with… when he asked, ‘How you find the space you need?’

I knew what he was referring to. Our lives were in danger of being choked… staying creative and keeping inspired was something we were conscious of  – we didn’t want to lose the thrill we had each time a new idea popped into our heads. I told him that me time is really important… but after watching the video, I wondered…

Inspiration doesn’t necessarily have to be researched or calculated. When I’m busy, I walk everywhere with my phone in hand, eyes on details, and mind on to-do lists. I can barely remember the shops I walked past or the colour of a friend’s new shoes. What am I missing out? And when was the last time I really looked at the world I was in?

If I begin to actually see the things around me, will inspiration ever run dry?


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to from intel to life

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading from intel to life at but... I digress.

meta

