war

February 7, 2011 § Leave a comment

‘… It’s looking increasingly likely that I’ll end up in Afghanistan. And that’s why I’m scared. The place is one giant minefield of IEDs. Most people are dying from bombs and not bullets. I could handle getting into a gunfight with someone, but being randomly blown up scares me. A lot of people are dying. The most common injury is people losing their legs.

If we go there, we’re not coming back the same… people we know will die or be seriously hurt. It’s just some very sobering reality that I have been facing. I still REALLY want to go because this is our generation’s war, and I want to do my part. It’s just, well, a harsh reality that we’re facing…

I don’t know how any of us will be the same after this.’

– excerpt from a friend’s email I received today

I don’t think anyone who comes out of a fight, comes out the same. Whether it be in your home, at work, on battleground or simply in your mind, a fight does one thing – it questions your belief system and holds you to your principles.

We always enter our battlegrounds with a sense of awe. The only difference, I guess, is what you’re in awe of – the power that backs you or the power you face.

And for my dear friend who’s choosing to fight for his beliefs, I honour him.

Take care my dear friend. My prayers and thoughts are with you. I’m not afraid of you entering the battlefield because the Dream Maker walks the land with you. He’s there – your one and only constant – and because all powers must bow to Him, you’ll be untouched. May you taste His favour, see His strength and experience His shield.

He is faithful. And He’s got your back.

*

The fight. It always starts with the heart.

What happens outside is a reflection of what’s been conquered within.

Tired out from the many daily battles I’d been facing the past few weeks, I found myself with two days’ worth of rest. I promptly turned on the telly (something I hardly ever do) and caught the start of an epic 2-part movie titled Red Cliff. Directed by John Woo, I was immediately drawn in by the sheer poetry of the film’s cinematography. And then the story kicked in.

Based on one of China’s finest historical moments, the drama was based on a legendary 208 A.D. battle that heralded the end of the Han Dynasty. Focusing on the crucial events in the battle of Chi Bi, it featured famous characters from the Three Kingdoms period like Zhu Ge Liang, Guan Yu, Zhang Fei and Zhao Yun… and I found myself oddly inspired by the confidence these people had in their strengths.

They knew (or learned along the way) that they didn’t need to be all-powerful; they just needed to work together.

‘The movie was about a smaller army that could defeat a larger, more powerful enemy through a combination of teamwork, intelligence, and courage.‘ John Woo explained in an interview. ‘Before I made this movie, I realized that the economy is getting worse, and affecting so many people. And I overheard some young people in Asia… they were so frustrated. They were all in a deep depression. Some young people didn’t know what to do, didn’t see much hope, didn’t see the future, and some people even gave up their life…

I just try to let young people know that they are not alone. There is always a friend. Just work together with your friends and family and take charge. There are always good people.’

Perhaps that was why I loved the film so much.

It made me realize that there will never be any challenge too big for me to handle, despite my lack.

I have the best team… and a great leader in the Dream Maker.

*

For my friend who’s going off to war…
For me and my daily battles…
For you, dear reader and the fight you face…

May we all keep our eyes on the source of our strength.

Him.

And with Him, we’ll do the impossible.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading war at but... I digress.

meta

