anticipation; emancipation

May 8, 2010 § 4 Comments

The boy with his bandaged thumb
The lady who was so drained dry
The engineers who couldn’t understand it all
The ones who sacrificed time
The man who asked the questions
The girl who teared in awe…
All watched in anticipation.

It was the unfolding of months of preparation and as the rehearsals progressed, I was enraptured in the wonder of it all. It is actually going to happen. Tomorrow. I am really excited and probably a little nervous about how people will react to the program.

Still, watching the people around me today, mesmerized, some even tearing, made me feel that it was all worthwhile.

*

‘Never forget that anticipation is an important part of life. Work’s important, family’s important, but without excitement, you have nothing. You’re cheating yourself if you refuse to enjoy what’s coming.’

– Nicholas Sparks

Am I a little scared that there’ll be negative feedback? Sure. But tonight… I refuse to let the worry eat at me. I want to stand bold and walk forward into the things unseen. The excitement of tomorrow.

‘Do you feel that there’s something remarkably different about this production?’ Cutesy asked me.

‘Yes, I actually do. I think I’m too relaxed, compared to the previous two events… and I keep wondering, have I forgotten something?’ I answered.

‘Yeah, me too. But hey, maybe we’re both growing in rest.’

True. I hope that this is the beginning of a new future – a new way of handling major productions, an emancipation from our past fears of failures.

‘A lot of really important people will be here tomorrow,’ PD confided in me. ‘I wonder how they’ll take the program? Or if we should change anything.’

I looked at him in slight horror. I don’t mind changing anything but…

‘Maybe they secretly harbour a desire and watching these performances will make them laugh?’ I asked hopefully.

‘Hopefully.’ He answered.

*

Hope.

It is what I have tonight.

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to anticipation; emancipation

  • Digiboy says:

    I hope it all turned out well with everyone šŸ™‚ I sure enjoyed myself

    • the marionette says:

      It was one of the most relaxed & enjoyable events, wasn’t it? šŸ™‚
      And I just received news that the Big Boss loved it.
      Thanks for always being there… and for being such an important part of it all. Wan too!

  • Digiboy says:

    Your welcome! It’s always a pleasure, apart from the real reason, to be doing things for family, with family šŸ™‚ God I love our team!

  • kitty says:

    you all were fantastically and wonderfully amazing. and so was the event. šŸ™‚ and it’s true, even the atmosphere around the team was different! I think, it was a major attribute to the success of the event. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading anticipation; emancipation at but... I digress.

meta

