I want to ride…

May 1, 2010 § 5 Comments

I didn’t die.

That was a good thing.

But I watched others do it while I cycled.

I am on a new diet and exercise regime as I have a new goal. I am going to climb a mountain.

Last year, I planned on doing the touristy Mt. Kinabalu but a work event came up at the last minute and I didn’t manage to get away with the rest of the gang. I wuz robbed. This year though, I want to fly to Nepal. The exact itinerary hasn’t been firmed but I prepped the boss beforehand and it looks good so far.

As part of the new physical training, I was supposed to run today but the heat wave was terrible. I know myself well enough – I don’t have the mental strength to run when it’s terribly hot, and watching the elderly pass me by while I huff and puff away isn’t the best form of encouragement. So I opted for an easier way out… I stayed in my air-conditioned room, wore my trainers, laid my laptop in front of me (with CSI playing – which explains the bit about watching the dying) and cycled on my stationary bike in solitary bliss.

Before the experts around me start mocking (thinking of Smiley & JP right now), I stayed at a safe 70% of my maximum heart rate and cycled for a full 45 minutes. I am proud of me! But I know I did it easy today.

Tomorrow – a little weight training! I so do love the sore feeling I get after a good workout. It’s the only indicator that I did anything at all…

And then in October, I’ll conquer the mountains. Well, to the base camp at least.

*

‘Are you a creature of habit?’ a friend asked.

I honestly did not know how to answer that question. I like being impulsive with life. I enjoy rolling with the waves and perhaps, I am a sucker for the thrill of the unexpected. That said… I love (and cannot live without) my daily 2 hours of writing and ‘me’ time with the computer. I also dislike having my personal plans derailed by surprises. Which is odd, considering I just said I like being impulsive.

There are a couple of things I want to do before I die:

1. Do a bunjee jump

2. Go white-water rafting

3. Stand right at the top of a mountain and sing loudly

4. Start a cafe

5. Release a children’s book

6. Take the maddest, craziest roller-coaster ride till I nearly throw up

7. Hug a tiger

8. Sit in a tree

9. Stand in the middle of traffic and just watch the cars whizz by

10. Life life… completely unafraid

So… does planning these things count as being a non-creature of habit? And is it mad that I’m wondering if I can bring my laptop and blackberry to Nepal?

*chuckle*

*

‘Anyone who imagines that bliss is normal is going to waste a lot of time running around shouting that he has been robbed.

The fact is that most putts don’t drop, most beef is tough, most children grow up to be just like people, most successful marriages require a high degree of mutual toleration, and most jobs are more often dull than otherwise.

Life is just like an old time rail journey … delays, sidetracks, smoke, dust, cinders, and jolts, interspersed only occasionally by beautiful vistas and thrilling bursts of speed.

The trick is to thank the Lord for letting you have the ride.’

– Jenkin Lloyd Jones

What a ride 2010 has been. It’s been a good mixture of the droning and the craze-ing.

At the start of the year, I asked for adventure.

And seeing how the past 5 months has been (my god… has already been that long?!), I just know that there’s more to come.

Hang on tight.

While I ride my stationary bike.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to I want to ride…

  • poietes says:

    That’s a good list, and almost all are achievable. Don’t know about the tiger. Good luck on the mountain climbing.

  • charms says:

    I want to ride my bicycle..I want to ride my bikeeeee….
    inicdentally..I just came back from a night run jus before l visiting here…been feeling whale-ish!! bahhhhh….

    • themarionette says:

      Don’t be silly! You were looking gorgeous and fit, the last time I met you. Must be the regular combat you engage in with your ten juvenile delinquents.

  • charms says:

    *tee hee….
    correction- before I visted…*
    countdown to JUNE..when we can finally have another sesh!

  • xalegria says:

    I love the soreness of the after-workout too!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I want to ride… at but... I digress.

meta

