solitude

April 28, 2010 § Leave a comment

Sublime.

In my world shielded from prying eyes and inquisitive stares, I was encased in a different dimension built solely on music and words. It didn’t matter that two girls walked past and burst into laughter. It didn’t matter that there were some who tried to catch my eye. It didn’t matter who I was, who they were or what they thought…

I was holding a conversation with the Dream Maker. I like hearing His voice.

Ever so often, I wonder if I’m an oddball in the team because the rest seem to thrive in interacting with each other. I love the moments we burst into laughter but very quickly, I want to seclude myself into a quiet corner. Maybe it’s the natural outcome of life in a glasshouse.

Which was why I planned my necessary shopping trip for the Wardrobe during lunch. And thankfully so, as they’d planned a team-thing. But I wanted to be on my own. While the rest gathered in the eatery, I walked off into the crowds and did my own thing.

Amazing then, what a set of headphones can do. Instead of greeting me with words, the shop assistants smiled and waved. They stayed away.

It was my delicious moment – a suspension in time…

Too soon, I had to return to work and discussions. And yes, more laughter. Still, it was all good.

‘It is easy in the world to live after the world’s opinion; it is easy in solitude to live after our own; but the great man is he who in the midst of the crowd keeps with perfect sweetness the independence of solitude.’

– Ralph Waldo Emerson

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading solitude at but... I digress.

meta

