let’s do it

I have been busy. What an understatement.

I am on a learning curve that is far steeper than I ever wanted. I like learning. I just hate dealing with emotions. But like what PD said today to me, ‘All learning is at the expense of someone else.’ How true. People sacrifice either time, effort or comfort for your learning experience. You make a mistake and someone else suffers, or has to cover for you.

Now I am a person who dislikes intensely the need to make someone else give up something for me. If I can do it on my own, I will. But recently, I’ve had to pull in favours like never before, cause disruptions in other’s work schedules and basically, be a sore point of contention over a lot of other issues and this is simply not easy. So yes, I have wanted to throw in the towel and walk away. But I grit my teeth and hang in there.

Something DigiBoy said that impressed me greatly. We had to shoot at 6am and this was after 4 intensely tiring days… I asked him if he could get up to help. I was worried that he’d be tired, that he’d be sacrificing too much, and yet there was no one else to call in for help. His answer?

‘Let’s do it!’

It made me want to run longer, go further and dig deeper.

And that’s what friends are for. We don’t necessarily share life stories, life’s problems and do heart-to-heart talk time. But if he ever called for help, you can be rest assured I’ll be there.

Perhaps that is what this whole ordeal is about. The building of relationships and the necessity to trust others. Granted. There aren’t many. But the few you find, they are precious beyond measure.

2 comments

  1. Pale · June 6, 2009

    That’s very true. Good friends will still be there for you even if you’re not regular chat-buddies. And its interesting how with some friends you can catch up where you left off even though you last spoke a while ago.

  2. DigiBoy · June 27, 2009

    Heya… Remember! More coffees, further distance! Hahaha! I kid, i kid. It’s the last lap! Let’s go for it! Soon all this will be over and we can be at my ‘air conditioned’ house sipping a cuppa… only… til next year… muahahaha

Leave a Reply

