dream disko

April 3, 2009 § 1 Comment

dance

A looooong time ago, shoegazing bands like Ride, My Bloody Valentine and Chapterhouse were more known for their music than their ‘live’ performances. It could be due to their general discomfort of ‘entertaining people’ as they were just guys who wanted to play their music or that they were seriously trying to figure their guitar effects out… I’m not sure, but they literally gazed at the ground while remaining almost motionless on stage.

It was a ‘scene that celebrated itself’ (NME) and boy did we have great fun dancing to them while we got happy-high in our baggy striped tees, skinny jeans and floppy hair.

The shoegaze sound is typified by guitar effects & vocals that blend into a wall of sound. Sometimes ethereal, sometimes exhilarating, almost always melodious, the sound spawned today’s post-rock genre (take a listen to the last track by New Order for the similarity) and it could be due to my current tastes in music that I find myself revisiting these bands once again. If you like The Verve, Broken Social Scene and M83, you should like them too.

Dream Disko

Tracklisting:
01. Teenage Fanclub – Star Sign
02. My Bloody Valentine – Only Shallow
03. Chapterhouse – Pearl
04. Ride – Vapour Trail
05. Catherine Wheel – Black Metallic
06. New Order – Elegia (Full Length Version)

Old perhaps. But they still rock.

And listening to them again makes me feel (as I listen to today’s current rock trends) like… I’ve heard it all before.

In a time these things will change
Hey there’s a side of me unknown, big deal.
And say, should this unknown force be shown, big deal.
If these thoughts make your day
Well if these thoughts change your day
Seen it all before, seen it all before
Given time these things will change.
..
– Teenage Fanclub

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to dream disko

  • […] John Hall & Associates – Phoenix Real Estate Brokerage added an interesting post today on dream diskoHere’s a small readingAnd listening to them again makes me feel (as I listen to today’s current rock trends) like… I’ve heard it all before. […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading dream disko at but... I digress.

meta

