just a quote

midnight_days

“When we hold each other, in the darkness, it doesn’t make the darkness go away. The bad things are still out there. The nightmares still walking. When we hold each other we feel not safe, but better. “It’s all right” we whisper, “I’m here, I love you.” and we lie: “I’ll never leave you.” For just a moment or two the darkness doesn’t seem so bad.”

– Hellblazer #27, “Hold Me”. Collected in DC Comics’ Neil Gaiman’s Midnight Days collection.

Seeing a lovely quote makes my day. Makes me want to go out and complete reading the entire Hellblazer collection. I must admit though, I’m not a ‘comics’ fan. The only series that I ever completed reading (and currently own) is Sandman and that is largely due to the fact that I love Neil Gaiman. I own all his books, most of his graphic novels and have read his children’s stuff too. Obsessed? Not really.

He has a wonderful way with words, dialogue and supplements his writing with enough fantastical twists to keep me entertained. The fact that he seems a humorous enough person with a knack at laughing at himself works well with my boredom too.

I can’t wait to read his latest project, which at the current moment, he has yet to unveil for fear of jinxing it. Ah well, I guess I shall just have to go re-read everything of his again.

That is, after I’m done with the ten-odd books lying by my bedside. They are still in their fresh packaging. Ah hell. Too many books, not enough time.

That said, check out these luverly stamps by Dave McKean!

mythical_creatures

I.want.them.

One thought on “just a quote

Leave a Reply

