where the wild things are & coraline

March 30, 2009 § Leave a comment

I am a HUGE fan of children’s books. So imagine my glee when I heard from the Husband that they are going to release Where The Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak. Firstly, I love monsters. Secondly, I totally identify with Max, who gets sent to his room (he was being naughty) and in the confines of his ‘prison’, enters a whole different dimension of mythical creatures.

Another movie, this one slated for release in September, is Neil Gaiman’s Coraline. He took more than ten years to write the story for his daughter and it’s about a girl who has to fight her way out a world parallel to her own. My personal copy is dog-eared and read so many times over.

My only worries are that the movies would destroy the imaginative world I created for myself when I read those books. Somehow, movies rarely compare well with our fantasies and so, I wait with crossed fingers and a little caution. I can’t help feeling all hop-skippity about the whole affair though.

WheeeeeeEEEeeee!

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading where the wild things are & coraline at but... I digress.

meta

