the winter’s tale

March 30, 2009 § Leave a comment

thebridgeproject

Ah crap. Shit, shit shit…

I am less than 24 hours away from watching The Winter’s Tale staged by The Bridge Project and I have no idea what it’s all about.  I know Shakespeare wrote it. I know it’s one of his most problematic plays. I know there’s someone called Hermione in it. I know it’s a love story but (wail) I don’t anything else other than that! And the tix cost me $200 upwards! Yes, they are one of the better seats, courtesy of Crazy Chick, who called me up a month ago asking I wanted to watch it with her.

I thought I’d have enough time to read the play (I do love Shakespeare) but with the projects that I had to handle and a shift in my portfolio at work… I barely had enough time to breathe, let alone read. Okay. That’s a lie. I have been selective about my reading and most recently completed Chuck Klosterman’s A Decade of Curious People and Dangerous Ideas, which I loved. Also just started on a fabulous book by Elizabeth Kostova titled The Historian so… in my case, it could be more a matter of discipline.

I just can’t read Shakespeare while traveling on the train or while waiting for the bus… or in the toilet for that matter! He’s just not casual, if you know what I mean.

In a last minute frenzy, I did what all literature students do. I searched the net. Wikipedia helped a bit, as did SparkNotes. And I managed to flip through the commentaries in the version of The Winter’s Tale that I have. Still, I can’t help feeling lousy about the fact that I may be wasting good money because I can’t understand the play at the depth that I want to. sob.

Sorry Sam Mendes, Ethan Hawke and the rest of the cast. I’ll applaud loudly, I promise. I hope my guilt doesn’t ring too loudly in my cheers though.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading the winter’s tale at but... I digress.

meta

