sound fragment (china)

March 30, 2009 § 1 Comment

sound-fragment-front

I do not understand the Mandarin language. I therefore do not understand what Sound Fragment‘s lyrics are about. I depend heavily on the translation of their track titles, however, it could be precisely due to my lack of understanding that the music is so darn enjoyable. I don’t get distracted by the words and the vocals + music then take centrestage, which is deserving of the limelight. A lot of what you listen to is left up to your interpretation.

The Husband’s friend returned from his trip to China last year and managed to get this album there. None of us had heard of Sound Fragment till then, which is a pity. Because Sound Fragment is polished in their crafting of melody lines (I’m a sucker for good melodies and lyrics) and manages to fit into any mood I’m in. A little like why I liked Cocteau Twins so much in my growing years.

It’s the third release from the Chinese band and to put it simply, Ma Yulong (vocals + guitar) sounds a whole lot like Guy Garvey (Elbow) & Thom Yorke (Radiohead) combined. Their music is more similar to Elbow’s though. They were once described as the Chinese Radiohead and often times were compared to bands like Coldplay. Take a listen and form your own conclusions. I’m rooting for them to make it big in the English market because darn it, they deserve the recognition.

Stick Together

The Morning of a Foreign City

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to sound fragment (china)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading sound fragment (china) at but... I digress.

meta

