finally understood

March 26, 2009 § 1 Comment

‘I don’t know how you did it!’ Kitty remarked as she typed away at her laptop.

‘Did what?’ I asked, reluctantly turning my head away from the computer screen to look at her.

‘You are so busy! I mean, you are not just busy doing work but you’re working at like so many things at one time, I don’t see how you managed to meet up with friends and hang out!’ she answered.

I smiled in reply. I didn’t know how I did it either. Actually, I didn’t know if I was doing anything at all.

Kitty has been helping me out with some tasks on a volunteer/intern/free-labour basis and oh-my-god did she come at the right time. We are embarking on a brand new project and it’s because of her and EmoGirl’s help that I can even keep on schedule with the tasks that need done.

It felt nice that someone finally recognized how busy I was. I often wondered if I was plain stupid (how come I keep forgetting things?), slow or merely incompetent that I lagged behind my responsibilities.

Douglas Adams (may he rest in peace) once said, ‘I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by‘ and I wholeheartedly agreed with him.

Thankfully, that has changed.

Or maybe, I have changed.

Whatever it is, her empathy was like balm on my tired mind. I finally felt understood. And to reward myself after a day’s work in the office, I treated myself to telly hour at home. I rarely watch the telly but tonight, I watched American Idol. Guilt-free. Amazing what a little remark of empathy can do for someone else.

§ One Response to finally understood

  • DigiBoy says:

    Yea you look real tired yesterday. Hope today’s better for you… I’m down with flu… Thanks to my colleague… blah! =(

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading finally understood at but... I digress.

meta

